Classic Coca-Cola with a Creative Twist

Sweater Weather is here!

And of course, with the steadily chilling weather and temperature drops, we’re also officially the sniffle season, the sore throat times, and the influenza frenzy, but the worst of the worst is the sore throat of doom.

 

But between cough medicine and bitter Chinese herbal teas that make me gag and vow off any type of medication, there is one particular remedy that I’ve used to battle the painful, inflamed throat since I was young: Boiled Coca-Cola with Lemon. The name says it all- it’s a hot drink made from the sugary soda and several slices of lemon for an extra citrus flavour!

 

Get Yourself:

1 Can of Coca-Cola

1 Lemon

 

 

 

 

 

 


How to Do the Do:

 

Cut up approximately 4-5 slices of lemon, the thinner the better!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Pour the can of Cola into the pot and add the lemons in as well.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Put the stove on low heat and boil the Cola and lemons for about 3-4 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Beware! If you leave the coke on the stove for too long, the sugar will caramelize!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Turn off the heat before the coke boils and pour the drink into a mug for serving.

This drink is best drunk while hot! Keep the lemon slices in the drink to preserve the citrus flavour.

 

 

 

 

 

 


 Grab a coaster and enjoy your hot drink!


Childhood in a Cup

I remember getting awfully sick in second grade with a high fever, and I spent the day in bed, gross, sweaty and exhausted. I slept for a little over sixteen hours that day and I could barely swallow children’s Tylenol because of how sore my throat was. Fun times, oh yes.

Sometime in the evening, I remembered getting up when my mom gently shook me awake and said, “Phyllis, I made you something to drink. Try it, you’ll like it.” Groggy and still unaware of my surroundings, I took the warm mug from my mom and took a sip.

I tasted lemons. It was sweet. The warm liquid melted down my throat. After a whole day of barely drinking water, I finally realized how thirsty I was. I tipped the mug up and drank faster, scrunching my face a little. Mom laughed. “Is it sour?” she asked, and I nodded. “Do you like it?” she asked again, and I nodded even more. That was my first taste of the boiled coke with lemon, and it. Was. Heavenly.

 

We’ve all got a comfort drink we make when we get sick, and those little delights are like a warm snuggle in a mug. If you’re looking for more variations in throat-soothing drinks, be sure to try out this Honey and Lemon tea; the classic drink for chilly days.

 

 

Got any cold remedies you know and love? Any secret family recipes passed down through the generations? Did this drink work out for you? Let me know in the comment section below!

Until next time, keep munch in’, everybody!

Tagged: , , ,

One thought on “Classic Coca-Cola with a Creative Twist

  1. saucy2wings October 28, 2014 at 7:17 pm Reply

    Hi! I really like this post and this recipe! I love how simple and straightforward (yet still detailed) your recipe is. I really feel like anyone can pull this drink off. I love the use of pictures and the gif is humorous. The little story at the bottom about your childhood also rings familiar for me because I used to get sick often when I was a child. I hope to see more fun recipes from you! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

